

Knowing, valuing, and appreciating the uniqueness of every child

NORTHERN OZAUKEE SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD of EDUCATION MEETING MINUTES REGULAR SESSION

Monday, January 21, 2019 · 6:30 p.m. OMS/OHS Library

(Note: Digital recording of minutes will remain on file in the District Office according to Wis. State statutes.)

Call to Order: 6:30 p.m. by B. Neis, President. Roll call taken; quorum established. Pledge of Allegiance was followed

by reading of the District's Strategic Plan.

Members Present: Brent Neis, President; Dan Large, Vice President; Tim Burmesch, Clerk; Jennifer Clark, Treasurer; Rick

Hamm (6:41); Kevin Klas;

Absent: Steve Burmesch; Scott Szczerbinski; Suzanne Miller

Others Present: Dave Karrels, Superintendent; Barbara Peterka; Joshua McDaniel; Tom Dorgan; Lynn Kucharski; Jason

Caswell; Bryan Grunewald, Schenck; Dan Benson, Ozaukee Press

Agenda: Motion to adopt the agenda in print made by T. Burmesch, seconded by J.Clark.

Public Forum: None

Celebrations and Announcements:

D. Karrels recognized A. Baumann and building secretaries for their continued hard work. Cal-X Incorporated was thanked for their donation of metal, steel and aluminum. Winter sports, clubs, and activity advisors were recognized for their dedication to students. Preschool screening will take place on January 25 and 28. Money raised for students/schools affected by the CA wildfires was put toward technology for a PreK-2 teacher in Redding, CA. Preventative maintenance on the MS and HS commons bleachers took place. Various work performed over winter break was shared. New conference champion signs were hung in the HS gym and thanks were extended to the Booster Club. Thanks were given to A. Graham and K. Benson for spearheading the Pennies for Patients for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society which took place beginning January 7. Matthew Baughman and Mason Thill were recognized for representing OHS at the Big east Honors Band held in Manitowoc. Congratulations were extended to the OHS Forensic students that participated in the Pirate Invite at Port Washington.

Consent Agenda:

- Motion to approve Consent Agenda Part I made by T. Burmesch, seconded by J. Clark. *Motion carried unanimously*.
- Motion to approve Consent Agenda Part II for the hiring of Amber Jensema for OES Aide made by T. Burmesch, seconded by K. Klas. *Motion carried unanimously*.

Monthly Reports:

Board chairpersons in attendance provided an update on recent committee meeting activities and future meeting dates.

Information/Action

Items:

· 2017-2018 Audit Report

Bryan Grunewald from Schenck presented the 2017-2018 District Audit Report. Motion to approve the 2017-2018 audit report as presented made by T. Burmesch, seconded by J. Clark. *Motion carried unanimously*.

• NEOLA Policy Updates – 2nd Readings

NEOLA policy updates returned for 2nd readings. Motion to approve the NEOLA 2nd readings as presented made by T. Burmesch, seconded by K. Klas. *Motion carried unanimously*.

· 2019-2020 Open Enrollment Seat Availability

Open enrollment seat availability was presented for NOSD and ROLES for the 2109-2020 school year. Motion to approve the 2019-2020 open enrollment seat availability made by T. Burmesch, seconded by R. Hamm. *Motion carried unanimously*.

· 2019-2020 District Calendar

D. Karrels presented the 2019-2020 District calendar, along with calendar survey results from District employees. Motion to approve the 2019-2020 District calendar as presented made by T. Burmesch, seconded by D. Large. *Motion carried unanimously*.

Next Agenda: Topics suggested for the February 18, 2019 meeting (Joint meeting: NOSD and Village of Fredonia):

referendum update, partnerships with emergency shelter, village progress on attraction of new

residents, tech presentation, policy updates

Next Meeting: Monday, February 18, 2019 - 6:00 pm - OMS/OHS Library (Joint meeting: NOSD and Village of

Fredonia)

Adjournment: Motion to adjourn Regular Session made by T. Burmesch, seconded by K. Klas. Meeting adjourned at

7:11 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Timothy C. Burmesch Brent Neis

Board Clerk

Board President

TCB:jae